How to Speak Other (Love) Languages

Have you ever heard of love languages? If not, it’s something everyone should know.

I’m way too interested in personality tests and understanding how people work (I guess that’s why I’m a neuroscience major). Rather than learning about yourself, this test helps you learn, and fulfill, the needs of others.

Love languages are how other people feel loved. Have you ever heard this dialogue:

“You never do anything for me. I’m so unhappy.”

“I do things for you all of the time, you’re not appreciative.”

The classic couple conundrum. So, who is right? Plot twist: THEY’RE BOTH RIGHT. They’re loving each other the way they want to be loved, not how their partner wants to be loved.

Think: It’s like calling a cell phone that is in a dead zone. You sent the signal, but it was never received.

There are five love languages:

  1. Gifts
  2. Physical Touch
  3. Quality Time
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Words of Affirmation

Most people are a combination of all of them, but we all have our favorites. I’m a Quality Time and Acts of Service tie. When people take time out of their busy schedules to spend time with me or take something off of my to do list, I am eternally grateful. But touch me, and we’re not friends. Don’t touch me.

Take the test here! And let me know what you think.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s