When to STOP Talking

It hurts to be so devoted to an idea that your chapter doesn’t support. No one wants to be told that what they want isn’t going to happen. I distinctly remember pitching an idea to a few of my sisters and suddenly there were crickets. Not a single response. I poured my heart into selling this event and I wasn’t seeing any of that reflected back at me. I remember looking into those blank stares and thinking, “Wow, this sucks!”

The less you talk, the more they listen.

As I listened to them half-heartedly support the idea, I remembered what my Granny always told me: the less you talk, the more they listen. In the week after my initiation, I had launched countless such ideas without any organization behind it. Just throwing ideas out into oblivion. With my new found importance, I had been wearing my sisters out with my grandiose schemes. I needed to shut my mouth.

Have you hit a roadblock trying to garner support for your favorite new cause? Maybe it’s because you won’t stop talking. People are sick of hearing you talk. Harsh, but true. What do you really want? You want to get your way.

–>Let’s figure out how to save your voice for when it really matters.<–

Step 1. Decide what it really is that you want.

For goodness sake, we’re trying to save our breath for when we really want to be listened to. Don’t try to adopt too many causes or no one will take you seriously.

Step 2. Make a plan for implementing your idea.

If it’s an event you want to have, make sure all of the logistics are worked out before you start ‘campaigning’. Especially in larger chapters, don’t expect to be taken seriously unless you have a good idea of what needs to be done.

Step 3. ‘Float’ the idea to key people.

Pick three or four people who you know could have some influence. For example, maybe you want to pick someone from each pledge class or members of executive council. This way, when you announce an idea you already have some supporters. Sometimes, all it takes for people to back you is to see that other people think it’s a good idea. Then, the idea gains momentum.

Step 4. Follow through.

You don’t want to go through all of the work and then the event never happens. That makes people think you lack perseverance. You want to be counted on to do things right. This shouldn’t be too hard, because you’ve already made your plan in step 2. Make sure that you delegate the tasks to different officers as needed and make your event a huge success.
Good luck!

IMG_0941

Leave a Reply

