DIY Spa Party on a College Budget

Who knew that Girl’s Night only gets more fun as you get older?!

For my 21st birthday, I worried about celebrating in a way that would include everyone. Plenty of my friends are not yet 21, so regular 21-year-old-things, like going to the bar, were off of the table. I thought about what 7 year old Laura would want to do and I decided on a grown-up (kind of…) spa party! Here’s how I did it:

img_4053

Menu: This was easy. College kids are basically toddlers. Pizza and an ice cream bar were no brainers. Giant tub of ice cream, Hershey’s syrup, maraschino cherries, chocolate chips, blueberries, & raspberries. For my guests of age, mimosas were a must.

img_4054

Target garland and ice cream cups from the dollar aisle. Sugar Shack donuts in the back were definitely crowd pleasers. 

Face masks: Each guest brought their favorite face mask in addition to the ones I provided which made for a really interesting mix. Make sure you have enough face cloths and access to a bathroom for when these masks need to come off.

img_4051

DIY Sugar Scrubs: At first I was wedded to the idea of making bath bombs, but news flash college dorms don’t have bath tubs, hence the sugar scrub. After face masks, we all sat down to see what the Pinterest rave was all about. I looked at several different recipes and chose a few I thought everyone would like: warm vanilla sugar, coffee, and oatmeal. I also picked up a pack of small, plastic containers from the Dollar Store so my guests could take their creation home with them.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Brown sugar

White sugar

Coconut oil

Old fashioned oats

Ground Coffee

Honey

Vanilla Extract

img_4052

This would be a really easy, cheap party to throw at an apartment or as a sisterhood/recruitment event at your sorority house.

What do you think? Sound like fun?

IMG_0941

 

Leave a Reply

